Organizing Institutions


School of Agriculture AUTh

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTh) is the largest University in Greece counting nearly 75.000 students and 2.000 faculty members covering all disciplines, from science and medicine to arts. It is widely recognized as a vibrant center of learning with a long tradition of academic achievement. Most of its teaching and research personnel have been trained in reputable Universities of the world. The main campus is located in the centre of the city of Thessaloniki, and covers an area of 33 ha. The School of Agriculture is one of the first founded in the Aristotle University, counting a history of 85 years and approximately 10.000 alumni agronomists. The School offers BA Honours in Agriculture after the completion of 10 academic semesters and also MA and a PhD degree in its post-Graduate Studies Program.



GiESCO stands for "Group of international Experts of vitivinicultural Systems for CoOperation”. The primary purpose of GiESCO is to promote viticulture at the international and regional level in terms of scientific and technological progress, in a multidisciplinary and cooperative spirit. The international GiESCO Meetings, organized every two years, are considered among the most important scientific events related to viticulture. One day of the meeting is usually targeted to the professionals and growers (Professional Day) with the aim to communicate current scientific and technical knowledge to a broader audience. The communication of all GiESCO actions is organized around the website 'www.giesco.org'.

The GiESCO Animation Cell is composed of 4 members: Alain Carbonneau (President-Treasurer), Laurent Torregrosa, Hernàn Ojeda and Philippe Abbal.